Peer Support: Patience and Kindness

Danny van Leeuwen Health Hats
19 min readFeb 23, 2020

Everybody possesses innate wisdom about themselves. I don’t know the answer to your question, but I believe that you know the answer to your question. I’m here to provide you with any information you need, support to access resources in the community, or just to be patient and listen. Interview about Peer Support with Keith Scott from Advocates, Inc.

Introducing Keith Scott

A few weeks after I started as Vice President of Quality Management at Advocates, Inc., I attended my first Board committee meeting. Advocates champions people who face developmental, mental health, or other life challenges. They partner with over 23,000 individuals and families to shape creative solutions to even the greatest obstacles. Advocates says, “First, we listen. Then, together, we do what it takes to help people thrive.” Midway into the meeting, a gentleman spoke for five full minutes in what seemed to my naïve ears as stream of consciousness passion. I thought, “What is this man saying? Wait, everyone’s listening intently.” When he stopped, the Medical Director said, “Let’s take a minute and digest what we just heard.” Again, I’m thinking, “Everyone’s silent! What’s going on here?” Then I stopped and thought, “Wait, he had an important point to make.” After the silence, attendees started with, “I think I heard you say this…” After another five minutes of…

--

--

Danny van Leeuwen Health Hats

Empowering people traveling together toward best health. Pt with MS, care partner, nurse, informaticist, leader. Focusing on learning what works for people